Developing cRPGs w/ 3.5 OGL

This is the place to talk about KotC, ask for help, and report bugs.

Postby wynams » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:44 pm

BlueSalamander (and others),

First of all, I am eagerly awaiting your game. I have extracted many small details from watching the preview video and I love your implementation. I am a long time C++ developer toying with the idea of a D20 system game and I had some questions for you.

1) Did you hire a lawyer to help you decipher WOTC's license to avoid future troubles?
2) You implement some things that the 3.5 ruleset poster child game (TOEE) did not even attempt such as bull rush ... can you reflect upon the most difficult thing Knights of the Chalice tackled?
3) Did you ever toy with the idea of hexagonal tiles? If so what ended up being the decisive factor in ruling them out? I realize straight surfaces present a challenge, but calculating radii, etc. such benefits seem to far outweigh the cons.
4) Any plans to make any subset of your work open source?
5) Do you make use of XML? I would think for things such as exporting your characters to "show off" your party on your forums would be not difficult to add? Also if combat could be exported via XML it would have probably helped via debugging.
6) Is there an option to use the point-buy system for ability scores? If not, why (seems trivial to implement)?
7) What is your biggest regret now that the game is almost done?
Currently playing: Gothic III CP1.7 QP3, Knights of the Chalice
Games left to finish: King's Bounty, Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines (Vent. Dominatrix - Companions mod)
Games to replay: Gothic II NotR
wynams
Lizardman (CR 1)
Knights of the Chalice

Advert

Re: Developing cRPGs w/ 3.5 OGL

Postby BlueSalamander » Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:49 pm

Hello Wynams, thanks for your post,

wynams wrote:1) Did you hire a lawyer to help you decipher WOTC's license to avoid future troubles?