Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit [resolved]

This is the place to talk about KotC, ask for help, and report bugs.

Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit [resolved]

Postby Paul.Illes » Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:59 pm

I've just installed the full game under two different Windows versions. Starting / loading a new game, or switching to WIndowed mode results in crash.
I've an Nvidia 8800GTS, AMD64x2 CPU, Asus Xonar D1 soundcard. Installed the latest version of KotC 1.06.

kotcCrash.JPG
kotcCrash.JPG (214.21 KiB) Viewed 1915 times
Last edited by Paul.Illes on Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Paul.Illes
Stone Giant (CR 8)
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit [resolved]

Advert
 

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby BlueSalamander » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:06 pm

Was version 1.05 working? I have 1.06 installed on Win XP and it works perfectly. Has anyone else got the same problem?
'Say there is a chunk of meat. Pirates will have a banquet and eat it! But heroes will share it with other people. I want all the meat!!' - Luffy in One Piece
User avatar
BlueSalamander
Master Conjuror
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 6:20 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby Paul.Illes » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:08 pm

Tested it now with a fresh install of 1.05. No luck! :( I will update my GPU drivers now and test again.
Paul.Illes
Stone Giant (CR 8)
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby BlueSalamander » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:34 pm

Which folder did you install the game in?
'Say there is a chunk of meat. Pirates will have a banquet and eat it! But heroes will share it with other people. I want all the meat!!' - Luffy in One Piece
User avatar
BlueSalamander
Master Conjuror
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 6:20 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby Paul.Illes » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:38 pm

BlueSalamander wrote:Which folder did you install the game in?


Moved the original folder, and reinstalled to the default directory.

No luck with the updated GPU driver. Will try something related to my soundcard now..
Paul.Illes
Stone Giant (CR 8)
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby Paul.Illes » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:45 pm

Okay, kind of a solution found! Disable my Asus Xonar D1 , enabled the Realtek onboard chip - music now plays (it wasnt before) and the crash went away. Seems like if there's a problem with midi playback with a given soundcard it might cause generic troubles. :o
Paul.Illes
Stone Giant (CR 8)
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby BlueSalamander » Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:49 pm

Good! I'm glad you found a way to fix the problem. Perhaps your sound card didn't have some of the instruments needed for playback. Are you playing on XP or Vista? Is Vista 64 bit working?
'Say there is a chunk of meat. Pirates will have a banquet and eat it! But heroes will share it with other people. I want all the meat!!' - Luffy in One Piece
User avatar
BlueSalamander
Master Conjuror
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 6:20 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit

Postby Paul.Illes » Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:09 am

BlueSalamander wrote:Good! I'm glad you found a way to fix the problem. Perhaps your sound card didn't have some of the instruments needed for playback. Are you playing on XP or Vista? Is Vista 64 bit working?

Currently playing on Vista 64bit. Will try it on XP too (i'm quite sure it will help).
Anyway it would be nice to at least try to handle such a problem with some kind of 'fallback' or catching the error an disable midi playback. Exotic soundcard owners might get something similar.
Paul.Illes
Stone Giant (CR 8)
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: Crash to desktop - WinXP32bit, Vista64bit [resolved]

Postby Over » Sat Aug 15, 2009 9:33 am

I have Asus Xonar DX and those crashes (and no music) also happen if I don't run it as an administrator. I really think it's something about the sound or the soundcards.
Over
Ancient Black Dragon (CR 19)
Playtester
Knights of the Chalice
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:34 pm


Return to About the Knights of the Chalice cRPG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests